More than a year after the release of his lauded second solo album, Hierdie is die Lewe, iconic rocker Francois van Coke is back with what his fans crave the most – new music.

With the help of Red Bull and Jägermeister, Francois roped in old and new friends to unleash the En Vriende (And Friends) EP. This 4-track EP features epic collaborations with Jack Parow, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Early B and AKING’s frontman, Laudo Liebenberg.

The En Vriende EP has a big sound, ranging from rock to punk to hip-hop, showcasing Francois’ diversity as an artist.

The idea for the EP was fuelled by the AMP Events production Francois van Coke & Vriende (in association with kykNET and Jacaranda FM) which is taking place at Sun Arena, Time Square in Pretoria on 15th September.

‘’All four of these collaborating artists are part of the ‘Francois van Coke & Vriende’ production. I wanted to release new music this year before my 3rd full-length album drops in 2019. After everything came together for the show in Pretoria, it felt like a great idea to write music with some of these ‘vriende’. With the help of Red Bull Studios Cape Town and Jägermeister, we were able to pull off a great sounding EP. It is going to be awesome to perform a track like the one I have done with Early B titled ‘Altyd lief vir jou’ for the first time at the Sun Arena,’’ says Francois.

Track list:

Stream or get En Vriende here:

1. Ek lewe, ek belowe ft. Die Heuwels Fantasties

2. Altyd lief vir jou ft. Early B

3. Spaar my asseblief ft. Laudo Liebenberg

4. Moenie bang wees nie ft. Jack Parow

The EP was recorded by Fred den Hartog and Dane Taylor at Red Bull Studios in Cape Town.

A music video for the first single, Ek lewe, ek belowe, featuring Die Heuwels Fantasties will be released on 24th July 2018.

This exciting release is a vital soundtrack for the rest of 2018.

Photo: Andre Badenhorst